Beth Israel Women

2016-2017 Officers

President: Barbara Siegel
VP : 
VP Programs: Sylvia Pastor
Treasurer: Rosalyn Ehrenpreis
Corresponding Secretary: 
Recording Secretary: 


3 years: Leah Barkier, Lynn Burton, Rosalyn Fleisher, Judy Goldstein, Gloria Sabin
2 years: Sandra Bratter, Nancy Cohen, Doris Kaplan, Miriam Goldfarb, Rhonda Cooper
1 year: Barbara Siegel, Marlena Frank, Ilse Hecht


Nancy Eisenstat, Florence Katz (z”l), Marty Katz and Alice Taich


Books and Brown Bag: Gloria Sabin and Linda Berliner
Fashion Show: Sylvia Pastor and Nancy Cohen
Game Day: Nancy Cohen and Sylvia Pastor
Sisterhood Shabbat: Judy Goldstein and Rhoda Cooper


Sheila Zinder, Arlene Krum, Leah Barker, Eileen Dunn Berger, Bernice Feinstein,
Judith Feldman, Anita Goldberg, Gertrude Hochberg (Z’’L), Suzanne Lutkoff,
Estelle Schilane (Z’’L), Natalie Seigle, Florence Sinclair,
Joyce Solo, Alice Taich, Ruth Wexler

Beth Israel Women, numbering more than 240 members, provide a support system for the various functions and celebrations enjoyed by all Temple Beth Israel members.  Among their services are planning and arranging holiday festival celebrations, including Chanukah, Purim and Passover observances, as well as the “Break-the-Fast after Yom Kippur plus BIW’s active participation in functions related to the weekly Sabbath Service and Oneg Shabbat.

In addition to various, creative fund raising projects, BIW operates the successful, profitable and well stocked Judaica Shop, which channels much of its income in support of Temple projects as well as housekeeping items deemed essential for Temple functions.

Two significant monthly activities of BIW are the Books and Brown Bag Bunch which meets to review and discuss books with Jewish content, and the Torah Commentary Study group which covers studies of significant passages from the Torah.  Other activities include a broad variety of programs of interest at monthly membership meetings.

Women members of Temple Beth Israel are invited to join and participate in BIW functions. 

Link to BIW Bylaws